Quinoa Squash Mash

Rinse one cup of quinoa in a fine mesh strainer, then simmer it in up to two cups of water (until all the liquid is absorbed). I sometimes add a little 100% pure organic carrot juice in with the water portion. I had some baked winter squash that I mashed and mixed in the quinoa. Then added a handful or sprinkle of each of the other ingredients. I vary the ingredients I use each time I make it, this is just what I had on hand for this batch.

Ingredients:
Black, White and Red Quinoa
Winter Squash
Brussels Sprouts (the only fresh veggie I had in the house today, use any and all vegetable substitutes here)
Fresh Parsley or Cilantro
Red, Yellow and Orange Bell or Sweet Peppers
Sesame Seeds
Chia Seeds
Cranberries
Sprinkle of Cashew, Pecan, Walnut, Almond
Red Pepper Flakes or Cayenne Pepper
Coconut Flakes or a drop of coconut oil

One response

  1. Pingback: It’s a Parrot Mash-up! | For Parrots: Posters for Parrot Advocates

Leave a Reply

