Wheat Berries and Lentils Bird Bread

I try to do something different every time I make a bird bread; I use healthy ingredients and just mix up the vegetables, fruits or nuts that I use each time. This is my batch for today.

2 cups flour (I used half spelt and half buckwheat flours for this batch)
1 cup liquid (unsweetened applesauce, pure unsweetened carrot juice, or just plain water)
1/2 cup cooked wheat berries (simmer in water for an hour)
1/2 cup cooked lentils (simmer in water for 20 minutes)
1/2 cup cooked split peas,yellow or green (simmer in water 20 minutes)
1/2 cup raw broccoli florets, finely chopped
1 carrot, finely chopped
1 apple, finely chopped
2 sweet peppers, finely chopped
2 tbs almonds, finely chopped
2 tbs flax seed (ground to powder)
2 tbs raw shelled pumpkin seed
2 tbs sesame seed
2 tbs chia seed
2 tbs coconut oil
sprinkle of cinnamon
1 egg

I first mix the wet and dry ingredients separately; then blend them all together. The parrots often enjoy the wet mash type mix by itself too, I saved this portion of it for the bread.

I baked it at 350 for about 40 minutes, I used a large shallow glass baking pan for this batch. Cooled and cut into small squares. Everybirdie got a piece today, I put the rest in the freezer so they can get a special treat each week.

Leave a Reply

