Quinoa Salad

I use the tri-colored quinoa, I soak it for five minutes and then rinse well before cooking. Cook 1 cup quinoa to 1 3/4 cups water; simmer covered for 10 to 15 minutes, then let sit another 10 with lid on and the stove off.

Let cool and then add fresh veggies. I mix this up each time I make it; today it included carrot, bell pepper, sweet pepper, summer squash, brussels sprouts, red cabbage, spinach, romaine lettuce, mustard greens, cilantro, parsley, squeezed fresh orange and chopped orange.

2 responses

  1. tri-colored quinoa? cool…. I’m thinking this would work nicely with regular quinoa…but not nearly as pretty! 🙂

    May 9, 2012 at 5:45 am

    • I use both kinds, but yes the tri-colored always looks nicer. At first I kept hearing the red and black were the most nutritious. But now in recent info it looks like all three colors have similar nutrients.

      May 9, 2012 at 9:46 am

Leave a Reply

