Healthy Bird Bonbons

Okay so I kept seeing these great parrot “sweet potato balls” or “treat balls” recipes and had to give it a try. I started with that basic idea, and then went from there changing and adding ingredients as I went along. I’m going to call these “Healthy Bird Bonbons”, just because I like the sound of that better. Don’t let the bonbons part fool you though, these are a great nutritious snack.

Ingredients:
pumpkin puree
quinoa
millet
chia seed
flax seed
sesame seed
cilantro or parsley
red chili pepper flakes
shredded leafy greens, veggies

Start with a half cup quinoa; rinsed, soaked in water for five minutes, then rinsed again. Now simmer, covered, in 1 cup of water until liquid is absorbed (about fifteen minutes). Stir in 1 cup of pumpkin puree, I just used plain canned pumpkin. Let the mixture sit and cool a bit. Then mix in some shredded leafy greens, cilantro or parsley. You could put some shredded veggies in too. For some dry ingredients I used sprinklings of millet, chia, sesame, flax and red chili pepper flakes. Then roll spoonfuls up into little balls and bake them at 350 until light golden brown. I only baked them about fifteen minutes, they were still very soft and moist, but it was just enough to set them so they weren’t mushy.

These were a huge hit with everybirdie and they gobbled them up at lightening speed. Hope your guys enjoy them too!

10 responses

  1. awesome I will be making these this week!

    June 10, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    • They disappear fast, definitely adding this to favorites!

      June 10, 2012 at 8:44 pm

  2. Well i will try this one as well, they love the last one, with quinoe and pumpkin and all other ingredients. I can freeze and take one out for breakfast every couple days. Can I freeze the bonbons.

    June 10, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    • Mine all love quinoa, I do a lot of their dishes with it. And yes you can just freeze the extras.

      June 10, 2012 at 10:10 pm

  3. Gaye Elka

    Okay, now THIS I must try; I’m still trying different guinoas as my fids are not crazy about it ……. how much more fussy can they get? Mommy is spending too much $$$ on different items for them to like ….. waaaah, waaaah :’-( !!!

    June 12, 2012 at 7:39 pm

  4. I will have to give it a try with my parrots, looks amazing

    June 13, 2012 at 7:01 am

    • Let me know how they like it, mine sure were crazy about it.

      June 21, 2012 at 8:57 pm

  5. Pingback: Healthy Bird Bonbons (another variation of the recipe) « The Happy Cockatoo: Elle's Avian Cuisine

  6. Pingback: Healthy Bird Bonbons (with quinoa and veggie chop) « The Happy Cockatoo: Elle's Avian Cuisine

  7. Pingback: A+ for Orange | For Parrots: Posters for Parrot Advocates

Leave a Reply

