Eating with the Parrots

It’s a lot easier to get parrots to eat healthy food when it’s on your plate, they would much rather have what your having instead of whatever is in their food own bowl. To a parrot, it tastes better if it’s yours. Here’s the salad I made for everyone tonight that was both bird and people friendly.

Fresh spinach leaves, carrot, bell pepper, cucumber, watermelon, raspberry, cantaloupe, strawberry, cooked quinoa, red pepper flakes, chia and sesame seeds a squeezed lime for the dressing.

3 responses

  1. Love it! I quit eating meat decades ago, and haven’t regretted it, ever. But when I got my first parrot, I was SOOOO glad, ’cause about the only things I eat and she couldn’t were avocado and chocolate! Now that I’m cutting milk out, in favor of almond milk, the birds can even poke their beaks into my cereal safely!

    July 5, 2012 at 7:45 am

  2. That’s great Jo!

    July 5, 2012 at 6:10 pm

  3. Pingback: It’s a Parrot Mash-up! | For Parrots: Posters for Parrot Advocates

Leave a Reply

