Parrot Pumpkin Bites

Another fun, healthy parrot treat for the fall season.

2 cups of cooked mashed pumpkin (or sweet potato)
2 cups of leafy greens (chop finely, or just put though the food processor)
1 cup dry old fashioned oats
1 cup millet (I used puffed this time, but you can use dry millet too)
a couple spoonfuls of raw pumpkin seed
sprinkle of chia seed
sprinkle of finely chopped goji berries
dash of ceylon cinnamon

Mix cooked mashed pumpkin, cinnamon, chia, pumpkin seeds, minced goji berries and minced greens. Then mix in the dry oats and millet. Roll teaspoon sized balls, food prep gloves will come in handy for this part. You can chill in the refrigerator few minutes to set their shape.

* Greens for this batch include collard, mustard, turnip, dandelion, kale and endive.
* Added some parsley too.
* You can get the dry or puffed millet from health food stores.
* I’ve also substituted cooked quinoa instead of using the dry oats.
* Would be great substituting the chopped goji berries for chopped cranberries too.

Today’s Fall Feast: Pumpkin Bites, Cranberries and Veggie Chop with Quinoa.

Another batch pic.

10 responses

  1. love it, love it, love it …. I made those mashed sweet potato balls, but no one touched them, but I will try these nonetheless!!!

    October 6, 2012 at 8:03 pm

    • Oh that’s a bummer, mine love sweet potato or pumpkin anything. Just try again. One day what they pretend to hate, they may love the next day.

      October 6, 2012 at 8:11 pm

      • Perhaps if they’re hungry enough, they will eat them ….. <sighing …… I hope so; the thing is, I waste so much damn food and it kills me :-(!!!

        October 7, 2012 at 8:56 am

  2. Do very small amounts so it doesn’t go to waste, just give them a spoonful of fresh food at a time.

    October 8, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    • Uh huh, yep, made this a couple of months ago, and it was tossed …..buuuut, Alex just loves this birdie bread and she can’t get enough …. I modified it by adding more dark veggies along with red kale!!!

      October 8, 2012 at 6:41 pm

  3. Screw this, I’m not giving in to their obstinate ways and letting them win ….. I will just keep trying to give them all of these healthy foods and WON’T give up 😦 😮 !!!

    October 8, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    • Elle, what’s that on the bottom left in the picture, grapes?

      October 8, 2012 at 6:46 pm

  4. No, those are the cranberries. I don’t feed grapes at all, way too high sugar content without nutrition. I try to stick to berries when I feed fruit, blackberries and blueberries are really great additions.

    October 10, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    • I will only give them a grape and sometimes just a half once in a blue moon. I also feed berries to my fids, however, only my GCC, Kirby, loves them, i.e. blackberries, raspberries, blueberries and goji berries; Alex, my TAG, loves cantaloupe which is also low in sugar 😀 !!!

      October 10, 2012 at 1:50 pm

  5. Pingback: A+ for Orange | For Parrots: Posters for Parrot Advocates

Leave a Reply

