Blueberry Sweet Potato Parrot Treats

Pet treats are so much better when they’re homemade. No questionable ingredients, preservatives, chemicals, salt, sugar or cheap fillers. Plus this way, they’re made with love. ♥

hearts

1 cup of a healthful flour mixture (for this batch I used a mix of quinoa, coconut, buckwheat and almond flours)
2 cups mashed sweet potato
1/2 cup of mashed blueberries

Bake 25 minutes at 350 in greased shallow glass baking pan (organic extra virgin coconut oil)
Cool, then cut into bite sized pieces, or use a cookie cutter. Flip them over and bake the bottoms for another 10 minutes.

* Mix up the ingredients each time, I alternate the base between sweet potato, pumpkin and butternut squash. Add different veggies, leafy greens or berries. I meant to add shredded kale to this batch but forgot to add it at the last minute.

They are Einstein approved.

Einstein

8 responses

  1. These look delicious! 🙂 I will give the recipe a try. I’ve also shared it on Facebook for the rest of my feather-loving friends. Thank you for posting!~

    July 7, 2013 at 11:07 am

    • Wonderful, hope they enjoy it. 🙂

      July 7, 2013 at 12:13 pm

  2. Pingback: Whole grain banana walnut bird treats | The Happy Cockatoo: Elle's Avian Cuisine

  3. Are these supposed to be dry or moist? Is the batters supposed to be very dry because it was when i made it, so i added a bit of water. What size pan do you put this in? I thought they would be kind of like a cookie – a little crunchie – but after 45 minutes of baking, it was still cake-like. I used a small pill bottle to cut little shapes out after cooking and then baked them for another 10 minutes and it was still cake-like. So, to make it cookie-like, should it be a very, very dry dough and then flattened into a larger pan than 11″ x 8″ (which is what i used) to spread it out more, to cook crunchier? Or, do you want a wetter dough for a moister morsel?

    May 11, 2015 at 3:57 pm

    • Hi Pickles! These are a soft baked treat, like birdie bread. I don’t use any water as I don’t want to water down the ingredients, the dough would be a different consistency with water as well. If I want to add more moisture, I add more wet ingredients in the form of the baked sweet potato or mashed berries (any pureed veggie or fruit will do). What kind of flour did you use? Coconut flour is very dry and takes up a lot of moisture, I only use a small bit, if you used a lot, just add more wet ingredients. The batter is thick but still should be moist from the sweet potato, I spread it into a thin layer. I use a shallow glass rectangular cake baking pan to cook it in (11×8 sounds about right). Thirty to thirty-five minutes total cooking time. The pill bottle is a great idea for your little cookie sized cut outs! I hope they came out okay for this batch and you like the treats! 🙂

      May 11, 2015 at 4:45 pm

  4. I used half and half – potato flour and brown rice flour. I didn’t think of adding any more wet ingredients but even if i did, i didn’t have any more mashed sweet potato. I could have used banana but i don’t like him to have too much banana because of the sugar content, but there are other good substitutions. That’s good thinking though – rather than water or juice etc. I’ll remember that. I gave one to Pickles this afternoon but he didn’t seem all that fond of it but it could be just the blueberries – he changes his mind all the time about what fruit he likes and right now he’s decided he doesn’t like blueberries i guess. Also, i make birdie bread for him and that’s what he gets for dinner every night so maybe he thought he was getting ripped off for a ‘snack’ because it was too much like his dinners. Such a goof. I will try again tomorrow. If he doesn’t like it, the dog will certainly eat it. And then i’ll try that same recipe with mountain ash berries when they come into season. He can’t resist those. I recently posted an excellent recipe on my FB page if you want to check it out – parrot muffins. I also made him another cookie a couple of days later that he loves and will be posting that in the next couple of days. I tell ya – that bird takes up more fridge and freezer space than we do. 🙂

    May 11, 2015 at 6:49 pm

    • I’ll check out the recipe on your page. And my dogs go bonkers for the sweet potato treats. I have to make them a batch too.

      May 11, 2015 at 6:55 pm

  5. Funny you should mention that. I had just made some dog cookies for my Min Pin and had left over sweet potato and that’s how i came across your recipe – i googled bird recipe/sweet potato. I just posted that one on Pickles’ blog and FB page. Here’s his blog site …

    https://picklestheparrot.wordpress.com/

    May 11, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Leave a Reply

